National Register of Historic Places

Historic homeBenefits
The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the nation’s cultural resources worthy of preservation. The National Park Service, in partnership with state governments, administers the program. The National Historic Preservation Act of 1966 created the program to recognize, protect, and support properties of historic and cultural significance. Registered sites receive:
  • Consideration in the planning for federal or federally assisted projects
  • Eligibility for federal tax benefits
  • Qualification for federal assistance for historic preservation
  • Recognition of their significance to the nation, state, or community
In order to be eligible for the register, a site must be at least 50 years old and have historical, cultural, architectural, or archaeological significance worthy of preservation. It is suggested that nominations be prepared by a professional.

Federal Regulations
Nominations of properties for the listing are prepared and reviewed at the local and state levels, but the National Park Service has the final decision on whether to list a property or district. Designation is primarily an honor. It does not require or restrict a property owner. If federal funding or licensing is used in work on the property, or if the owner seeks and receives a special benefit that derives from register designation, the owner becomes obligated to follow federal preservation standards.

Indiana Regulations
In Indiana, properties nominated for the register are reviewed and verified by the Department of Natural Resources Division of Historic Preservation and Archaeology. The Indiana Historic Preservation Review Board, a nine-member panel of professional and citizen members appointed by the governor, then reviews the nomination. If the board agrees, the application is sent to the National Park Service to request official listing on the National Register of Historic Places.