News Flash

City Press Releases

Posted on: February 6, 2023

Mayor Murphy Named to NICTD Board

Mayor Matt Murphy

Valparaiso Mayor Matt Murphy has been named to the Northern Indiana Commuter Transportation District (NICTD) Board of Trustees by Governor Eric Holcomb. NICTD operates the South Shore Line train with service from Millennium Station in Chicago to the South Bend International Airport in South Bend and is governed by a Board of Trustees representing the four Indiana counties served by the South Shore Line.


“I appreciate Governor Holcomb/s confidence in me and look forward to serving on the NICTD board. I see that the growth of NICTD services translates into added opportunities for Northern Indiana residents, businesses and visitors,” said Murphy. Murphy will represent Porter County on the Board and will serve through May 31, 2026. 


Murphy has served as mayor of Valparaiso since 2020. He has also served economic development director for the City of Valparaiso, where he was active in the revitalization of Valpo’s downtown. He is a former member of the Valparaiso City Council, Valparaiso Redevelopment Commission, Porter County Council, Valpo Schools Foundation and has served as vice president of the Valparaiso Economic Development Corporation. The City of Valparaiso is an active partner with NICTD as the city continues work on a transit-oriented district and advance the interests of communities located along the South Shore Line and beyond. 


Please Read Press Release
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in City Press Releases

Kevin Cornett Good Neighbor 2023

Kevin Cornett Named Good Neighbor

Posted on: November 27, 2023

Tom Gooding Named to Utilities Board

Posted on: November 17, 2023
Recycle Icon

Holiday Recycling Additions

Posted on: November 10, 2023

Off Season Brush and Yard Waste Pickup

Posted on: November 9, 2023
CV_Logo Icon Graphic

City Mourns VU Student Varun Raj Pucha

Posted on: November 8, 2023
Lake Cable

Lake Cable Holds Opening

Posted on: October 16, 2023
Leaf map

Valpo Announces Leaf Pickup

Posted on: October 13, 2023
Art Walk 2023 Greg and Alex Mendez

Valpo Art Walk Features 17 New Works

Posted on: September 20, 2023
Arborists Santos, McBain, Mayer

Valpo Arborists Certified

Posted on: August 30, 2023
stop sign

Valpo Adds New Stops on Franklin Street

Posted on: August 23, 2023
City Hall

Sports & Recreation Campus

Posted on: August 23, 2023
Paul Pryor

Paul Pryor Named IT Director

Posted on: August 21, 2023
Mayors Youth Council swearing in 2023

Valpo Swears in Mayor's Youth Council

Posted on: August 15, 2023
Courtyards at Pepper Creek Neighborhood Improvement grant

Valpo Awards Neighborhood Grants

Posted on: March 21, 2023

Valpo Updates Warming Centers

Posted on: January 30, 2023

Frank Dessuit Named to RDC

Posted on: January 25, 2023
John Nuppnau

John Nuppnau Named to RDC

Posted on: January 17, 2023

2023 Recycling Schedule

Posted on: December 21, 2022
Fire apparatus 2022

Valpo Fire Department Awarded ISO 2 Rating

Posted on: December 20, 2022
Andrew McIntyre

Valpo Names Andrew McIntyre Police Chief

Posted on: December 14, 2022