Park Board


  • 6:00 pm CT
  • Fourth Tuesday of each month
  • Forest Park Golf Course clubhouse
    Welter Room
    1155 Sheffield Dr.
    Valparaiso, IN 46385


  • Kay Magnetti, President
  • Mark Hardwick, Vice-President
  • Martin Sonnenberg
  • Tim Warner
  • Kevin Cornett
  • Don Clark
  • Kevin Nuppnau, Director of Parks & Recreation


Overall policy and management direction of the Valparaiso Parks and Recreation Department is provided by a four-member bipartisan board of park and recreation commissioners appointed by the mayor for staggered four-year terms. Following provisions of Indiana statutes, the board:

  • Acquires and improves property
  • Adopts new programs
  • Approves budget revenues and expenditures
  • Establishes management policy and regulations
  • Passes bond issues
  • Provides a public venue for community debate and input