Valparaiso Creative Council


Contact Information





Following numerous facilitator-led workshops and panels to envision the future of Valparaiso, the city adopted the ValpoNEXT Citywide Vision Plan, which includes a broad range of strategies generated by hundreds of participating community members. Among the included action steps to pursue over the coming decade is the creation of a Creative District , the result of conversations with ValpoNEXT and inspired by Valparaiso’s quarter-finalist round finish in the America’s Best Community Competition. The creative district was envisioned as a place where the community could come together to create, explore, and celebrate arts, culture, and innovation. The plan outlines a vision for the creative district with 34 supporting actions, organized into three specific themes: create, explore, and celebrate. It is the work of the Valparaiso Creative Council to execute the Creative District Plan. 

Mission and Vision of the Valparaiso Creative Council

MISSION: The Valparaiso Creative Council enriches the community by promoting, developing, and advocating for and with local arts efforts, artists, and organizations by providing educational, programmatic, and marketing support.

VISION: The Valparaiso Creative Council believes that when people come together to create, explore, and celebrate art, culture and innovation, communities thrive.  

Who is on the Creative Council?

The Valparaiso Creative Council is a group of local leaders chosen to advance the growth and development of the creative arts community in and around the City of Valparaiso.

Larry Brechner, Art on the Air
Dave Lee, Valpo Hot Shop
Amy Davis Navarsauskas, Art Barn School of Art
Megan Marolf, Musician
Linda Eyermann, Artist/Former Education Director, South Shore Arts
John Norris, LaPorte County Prosecutor’s Office
Kaye Frataccia, Empower Porter County
Dustin Ritchea, Indiana Dunes Tourism
Natalie Krivas, Valparaiso Community Schools Stephanie Swearington, GreatNews.Life
Peter Krivas, Porter-Starke Ericka Tyner Grodrian, Converse University